All The News That Fits

Mary, Mary, Quite Contrary

Posted by Nancy on May 17, 2008

How Does Your Garden Grow?

Pretty well after today, thank you, even though my name is not Mary.

Today was busy.  Bud and I went grocery shopping, which included buying garden plants and supplies.  He then tilled the garden again while I started mowing the grass (with an acre and a third and almost 100 trees, it takes awhile).  He then finished the grass while I weeded and planted.

A dozen tomatoes of three varieties.  A dozen peppers, only two varieties – this year I’m forgoing the sweet banana peppers because everyone gets them confused with the hot Hungarian wax ones I grow for Sean and I end up with unpleasant surprises.  Last year someone picked all the long yellow peppers at the height of production and put them all in the same bag – they all went over to Katie’s house after that.

Spinach.  Butter crunch lettuce.  Summer squash.  Sugar peas.  Those are all in, but I still need to plant the pole beans, some bush beans, winter squash, zucchini squash, onions, cucumbers, and maybe cantaloupe.

I tell everyone that digging in the dirt is what keeps me sane.  I really enjoy working in a garden, but am behind this year because I got the flu right when i should have been weeding, fertilizing, and mulching the flower beds.  It has been a cool spring though, so I still have time to catch up.  Right now the vegetable garden is more important.

This evening Katie and I went to the local hobby store to buy beads and other necessary supplies to make jewelry.  I want S~, H~, and Z~ to have jewelry in the colors Lolly has chosen for her wedding, and this is the only way I see that happening.  So, I have a project to do with the girls when I am up there Wednesday.  I hope they like it.

Speaking of the girls, Doug was really proud of H~ yesterday.  She called her dad to make sure she had the story straight about Barack Obama refusing to support a bill requiring doctors to provide medical care for babies born alive during abortions.  She was trying to tell her mother about it, but Brokeback wasn’t believing her.  (You can read about it here, where it says he is more liberal than NARAL, or just Google “obama abortion illinois” and get multiple references.)  Doug was proud that she is thinking for herself, and  standing up for what she believes in.

Those kids are living in two totally different worlds.  I hope he is sucessful in his suit for primary custody this year.

 

Leave a Reply

 
