All The News That Fits

All Dressed Up With Somewhere To Go

Posted by Nancy on June 10, 2008

www.eondeck.net/user_folders/remaxterrisellsvegas_com/las%20vegas.jpg     www.tarleton.edu/students/st_jharris/vegnight.jpg      Go to fullsize image  

Doug and the kids are on their way to Las Vegas, and Bud and I leave early in the morning.  I am packed – and ready to go.

I took the dog to the kennel this afternoon, and he was very excited with all the new sounds and smells.  He kept dancing around on his hind legs trying to see over the counter, which was very cute.  He didn’t even mind going with the kennel personnel, but I suspect he wasn’t happy when he got put into a cage.  I hope he does well in there – it’s his first time in prison and I feel sorry for him.

Bud checked the weather and it is supposed to be 103 in Vegas tomorrow.  He is such an Eskimo – he loves cold weather and doesn’t tolerate the heat well, and I am just the opposite.  I keep telling him it will be a dry heat, but he spent over two years at Nellis Air Force Base just outside Vegas and knows that when it is that hot it doesn’t matter that it is dry – it is hot.  They used to have contests to see how long it took to fry an egg on the sidewalk.

We’ll be leaving Vegas as soon as we get there though and it lookes more promising in Hurricane, with highs forecast in the 80’s.  Up in the mountains and more than tolerable. 

I got some results from my annual physical today, and my cholesterol is 222.  It’s supposed to be below 200 and the doctor talked about maybe putting me on medication for it, but I don’t know.  Is it that serious if your blood pressure is low?  This time it was 114/68, but it’s often lower.  I’m going to try eating healthier for a few months and have the cholesterol checked again to see if I can bring it down naturally.  I hate taking medicine.

Now is the opportunity for Elaine to say, “I told you so.”  He said to cut out white rice and pasta, and eat more fresh fruit and vegetables.  Lots of salads, chicken and fish, not much beef, pork, or shrimp.  Maybe I will finally take your advice, since that is what you have been promoting for how long now?  That thing about the shrimp hurts, though.  I thought it was a better alternative for the red meat – and such a tasty one.  Oh well, it was tuna steaks tonight and they were mighty fine.

Tonight’s township meeting was actually collegial.  We had a lot of residents with complaints, many of them from one short street with a speeding problem, but even with all the concerns everyone seemed to be in good humor and trying to work together to solve the problems.  The meeting didn’t take quite as long as normal – perhaps because we were down one trustee. 

At the end of the meeting when people asked if I had to drive up to Doug’s tonight I grinned and said no.  It felt oh, so good.  After three years I don’t have to drive up after late meetings any more.  The next time I see his kids I will just be Grandma and not a pseudo-mom.  I will still love them and visit them, but it will be different.  They will be a complete family without me.

I have my camera and will take lots of pictures of the bride and groom, the scenery, extended family, Vegas, and everything.  Life is good..

One Response to “All Dressed Up With Somewhere To Go”

  1. Jill said

    Have fun in Vegas! :o)

Leave a Reply

 
