All The News That Fits

Even More Cleaning Up

Posted by Nancy on June 21, 2008

I came back from Drew and kelli’s last night dog tired,  It was almost midnight by the time I pulled in the driveway, and my right hand felt like a claw from holding a paint roller for so many hours.

We got the living room, dining room, kitchen, bathroom, and half bath done though, and felt pretty proud of ourselves.  One bathroom to go, but I won’t be there for that one.

I got up early today to help at the township cleanup day – for five hours.  We had plenty of volunteers, plus four jail inmates who helped unload stuff out of people’s cars and trucks.  There are always a few doubletakes when people drive up to the dropoff area and see the bright green shirts stenciled with “Jail Inmate” on front and back.  The inmates they send are always very polite though, and very helpful.

Lots of people showed up to fill dumpsters with construction debris, old furniture, scrap metal (not as much as in past years, since many people now take it to recycling centers and sell it), and all other sorts of junk.  We had to redirect a lot of people since they had tires and the dropoff point for those was at the high school.  All in all a very successful morning though.

Now I have a trunk full of topsoil and mulch and am getting ready to head back to Drew and Kelli’s so Bud and I can help unload the van when they arrive in a couple hours.  I want to plant some petunias out front (thus the dirt and garden implements), and Bud is going to try and fix a leaky toilet.

I will take a picture of the van they are driving cross country, which Kelli says is very Beverly Hillbillies.  It is old, rusty, and says Salt Lake City School District on the side.  Their car is in tow behind it, and furniture is strapped to the roof.  Wow.  My very frugal son.  I’m not sure whether to be proud or to hide my head.

I can’t wait to see them, and to have our first family reunion with everyone living in the same state.

Leave a Reply

 
