All The News That Fits

Thursday Ramblings

Posted by Nancy on June 26, 2008

Hmmm, where to start.  I guess the beginning is as good a place as any.

My day started with a 6:30 a.m. appointment for some routine medical diagnostics.  Let’s just say because my father died of colon cancer I am supposed to get checked every five years.  I waited six years this time – some things you just don’t rush into.  The doctor also did an endoscopy to check for gastritis at the same time, since I’ve had problems before and there’s no use wasting a good anesthesia-induced sleep. 

All is well.  And if you should be getting yourself checked out don’t hesitate.  The day previous is a little rugged, but the procedure itself doesn’t last long and you’re asleep anyway.  I didn’t even see them hook the line into my IV, let alone start the anesthesia.

I’m not supposed to drive for the rest of the day, or make any legal decisions, or do anything of importance since my thinking might be impaired from the anesthesia.  Uh, right.  That feeling lasted for about 15 minutes.  An hour’s nap and I’m back to normal, or at least what passes for normal for me.

Drew called later this morning and put four of us on a conference call to plan Saturday’s dinner to celebrate his birthday.  That’s not a legal decision and probably isn’t of earth shattering importance, so I went ahead and helped plan the party.  Planning birthday parties is pretty routine , what with 24 people in the family and birthdays popping up fairly often. 

What was amazing was that he knows how to put us all on a conference call on a cell phone.  I need to have him show me how to do that.  I know, I know….I’m showing my ignorance again.

I’m going to a zoning hearing at 2:00 this afternoon to support residents who don’t want to see a small trailer court get permission to expand.  There have been problems with what is there and they don’t want to see it enlarge.  I’m getting a ride, so don’t worry; I will follow the doctor’s orders not to drive.  The nurse told me I might fall asleep if I went to a meeting, but I think this one will be too raucous for any napping.

The BIG NEWS of the day is (drumroll, please) Doug and Lolly are closing on their house at 2:30 this afternoon!  Yay!!!!  They are already talking about window treatments and furniture placement, so all they need now are the keys, a truck, some boxes, and some time.  Oh, and Lolly’s furniture to arrive from out west.  That will be in mid-July, so they will have time to move incremenatlly, which will probably make the process a little easier.  I am so excited for them.

Doug said Lolly sees the layout of the rooms differently than he does, with the computer in the back room and the front room used as a formal sitting room instead of the other way around (I agree with her 1,000%, by the way).  Anyway, I like what he said next.

“I will just have to keep talking to her about it until she decides to see it her way.”  I heard her laughing in the background.

He will be a good husband.

He was excited that when they went grocery shopping last night Lolly complained about the cost of a jar of olives.  She said it was 20 cents more here than out west.  She watches prices and tries to save money!  Oh, joy!  He knew she was like that, but to go shopping together and see it in action warmed the cockles of his heart.

She will be a good wife.

And that’s the news from my little corner of the world.

Leave a Reply

 
