All The News That Fits

lessons forgotten, lessons learned

Posted by Tami on January 20, 2009

As the world came to a screeching halt this morning to watch Barack Obama become the 44th President of the United States, I had one of those moments.

A moment where I remembered a lesson I had long since forgotten. Its something my parents taught me when Carter became President back in 1976…and its one I think Americans would do well to remember today.

The President, is our president, whether we like it or not…and we need to respect the man and the office, whether we want to or not.

I think at least half of all Americans weren’t listening to their parents back in the 70s.  The response, today, to former President George W. Bush proved it.

Obama fans lined the National Mall by the millions to cheer on the new President…and to ‘boo’ the old one, turning what should be one of the most historic events in the two century lineage of this country, into something akin to a high school football game.

How cheap!

It never ceases to amaze me the difference between the two political sides. The unwillingness of some to let history be the judge…the graciousness of others to let their political foes enjoy their moment in time.

Stark differences indeed.

Its a difference I want to impress upon my children.

A difference between bitterness, pettiness and bickering…and grace, forgiveness and honor. A difference many people seem to be blind to.

I want to my kids to be better than that.

I want Alek, Anya, Nick and Maddie to respect the office, as well as the man. While I certainly do not agree with the choices he has made…and we will absolutely not support many of his choices yet to come, he IS the president of the United States…OUR president, and if for no other reason than that, he deserves our respect.

President Obama will be making choices over the next four years (heaven forbid the next eight) based upon his conscious. He will be making choices he believes, rightly or wrongly, are the best decisions for the country.

I am highly concerned about what those decisions will be, but I let my voice be heard back in November. Now, I have to live with the consequences of living in a democracy. I have to live with the choices of the majority.

That’s what I’ll be teaching my children.

I will be teaching them to make change within the system of government in a responsible way.

That you need stand on your convictions…but respect the right of others to have convictions of their own.

And most importantly I’ll be teaching my kids more about the power of prayer…and our responsibility as Christians lift our new leader up before his maker.

Praying for his safety.

Praying for his wisdom.

And praying for the grace to respect the office AND the man.

Because its going to take some serious grace.

2 Responses to “lessons forgotten, lessons learned”

  1. Jill said

    Nice post. I feel the same way. :o)

  2. Christina said

    Funny you should post this. Husband made the point at dinner tonight that perhaps he and I have not done a very good job of teaching our kids to respect our new president. (I’m afraid I have an overactive gag reflex where he is concerned) But he is right and you are right – the very least we should teach our children is to respect our leaders. My challenge will be to model that respect while at the same time also exercising my right and responsibility to speak out on issues that concern me. Clearly I will need to pray for myself, as well as for President Obama!

Leave a Reply

 
