All The News That Fits

Marking This Historic Day of Obamanation*

Posted by E. on January 20, 2009

Today is probably the most historic day of my 38 years on this planet.  I know this because the ms media keeps crowing about it.  I know this because I think they might be right.

I never thought in my lifetime that I would see such a historic, solemn occasion:  today the United States of America inaugurates her first Marxist president.

How are you marking this day?  I meant to write this post and ask this question a week ago so that we could all share ideas in preparation and then report back after our festivities.  As usual, life got in the way and the post never got written; but I have put thought into how our family will mark this day, and today I will share what we are doing.

First, and most obvious, we will all be wearing black.  Call me racist if you want, but black is the traditional color of  mourning, and I see no reason to change that now.

IMG_1052

Second, we will be burying some money somewhere on our property to symbolize the fact that we will not be brainwashed in thinking the Marxist idea of spreading the wealth around is a good one.  Like the honeybee, we have worked hard and sacrificed much to get to where we are today (and where we are today is comfortable, but certainly not extravagant).  We do donate and look for other opportunities to serve and share, but we will never agree that it is the government’s job to take our money and administrate our charity.

IMG_1029

Third, speaking of the honey bee, I will be looking into ordering beehives today so that I can become a backyard beekeeper this summer.   Teleprompter Jesus and his minions may go after what money we don’t have buried in a field, but I think it will be quite a while before they start taxing our back yard food production, so we’re making plans to step that up and store it.

IMG_1053

Fourth, we will drive our Chevy Suburban around the block, several times, to show what we think about the liberal notion of global warming.  Also, since we live out in the country, that should be many miles of driving to nowhere, which is exactly where our country is going to go under an Obama administration.  Actually?  As a nation we will probably go backwards politically and economically, so perhaps I will back down the driveway when our little journey is finished. 

clip_image001

Fifth, we have acquired a Grim and today we will officially name her.   In addition to the symbolic significance, we figured there would be some home protection value that won’t be lost when the Second Amendment is reinterpreted or flat out repealed. Though our Grim actually looks like this:

IMG_1048
She’s really enjoying all this global warming. 

Sixth, and finally, we will pray.  We will pray today and in the days to come for our nation, for our freedoms, and for our new president.  Because he needs all the help he can get.

So, what are you doing?

*h/t to Christina for coming up with (or at the very least introducing me to) the “Day of Obamanation” idea.

4 Responses to “Marking This Historic Day of Obamanation*”

  1. metaphase said

    To mark this day, I took one of my kids to get shots. At least I’m not the only one in pain that way…Ok, no he really did NEED them.
    Later, maybe I’ll go give my hard earned money to someone who chooses not to work and to have lots of kids instead..We have to share our pie, right?

  2. Tami said

    I’m with ya sister…in spirit at least.

  3. Jennifer said

    I’m a liberal who occasionally visits this site because I like to hear “the other side.” I don’t like to close myself off to ideas. I still won’t, but I don’t think this website has anything to offer in the way of ideas or thoughtful reflection, and that is a shame. Apparently, it’s simply a venting, griping, b****ing site, and, hey!, that’s fine, but pretty unoriginal.
    Just have to say that I am a bit amused by this entry in light of the one above that is about praying for and respecting the man who holds the office. I guess that’s after you call him names and mock him. Is this that legendary grace and patriotism that your side claims as their own?

  4. G & K said

    Can you take a few more laps around the block and help melt the snow that’s falling outside right now? Thanks. 😉

Leave a Reply

 
