All The News That Fits

Everyone’s Talking About Glenn Beck

Posted by Nancy on February 27, 2009

It’s hard to watch a televisions show at 5:00 every evening – especially when you never watch TV in the first place so don’t think to turn it on.  I’m going to have to make the effort to catch Glenn Beck, though.  I’m hearing way too much about him and need to see it for myself.

I have to say I agree with him here.  They, and by “they” I mean ALL the political class in Washington, are destroying our country.  They are concerned only with power and getting themselves re-elected, and the way to do that is by bringing home the bacon.

The bottom line, though, is that the voter is responsible for this travesty.  Just like every tax increase on businesses is ultimately paid for by the little guy who buys their products, we wouldn’t have such corrupt politicians if the people weren’t willing to sell their votes for pork.  Our elected representatives run for re-election on their record of bringing federal money to their districts, and not enough people follow the dotted lines to figure out it is just part of their own taxes coming back to the area

As I watch this fiasco of an economic stimulus bill unfold I am at a loss for words to describe it.

I have submitted projects to the Recovery.org website for my community – pave some roads, replace collapsing catch basins, storm water control – but when I checked the site to see how many submissions are there I was flabbergasted.  Almost 2,000 PAGES of requests, some of them just plain ridiculous.

This is supposed to be a website to request money for infrastructure, for stimulus projects, right?  So what is a request for funding for “four intern dancers” doing there?  What kind of stimulation are we talking about? 

Then there is the one titled “insulation for my house,” presumably submitted by some hopeful citizen who feels that the little guy should benefit some here too. 

Oh my, I just found one for a European Union approved structure to house 24 bulls, for export of their semen to the EU.  (Life must not be stimulating enough for the bovines overseas.)  I’m trying to wash my brain of the waa-a-aay too easy snide remarks that spring to mind.

Okay, so most of the requests are for roads, bridges, water lines, sewer, extra police officers, etc.  But they are all things we can live without, just like the projects I have submitted for my community.  If I don’t have enough money in my budget at home to buy something, I do without.  If our township doesn’t have enough money to buy something, we do without.

The federal government is out of money – our money! – and they need to stop spending!

4 Responses to “Everyone’s Talking About Glenn Beck”

  1. poetreearborist said

    Eh… Glen Beck doesn’t do anything for me at all. Nah – I go with extreme liberal commentators like Keith Olberman and Rachel Maddow. Recently added to my favorites list is Chris Matthews (Mr.Hardball – you have won me over with your cunning use of factoids!) Of course, do not overlook (but you’ll have to change the channel) Brian Williams (sexy and smart!) and in that same category the just slightly less charismatic but ever good looking, Anderson Cooper. Did I mention Katie Couric?

    Actually there are many, many good options out there but BECK! Really? You can see what I mean for yourself.

  2. Tami said

    I LOVE Glenn!!! I’ve been listening to him on the radio for years…could never really get into his show while it was on CNN…but have started TiVoing him to watch every evening. He’s a thinker…which is more than what I can say for the rest of Washington.

  3. C said

    Glenn Beck, really??? His level of crazy is giving Nancy Grace a run for her money…

  4. sharethisurlaboutglenbek said

    You should check out my blog, The Glenn Beck Review.

Leave a Reply

 
